Roles


While the permissions assigned to each user can be customized on a user-by-user basis, it's convenient to use Roles for expressing the collection of permissions for different user types (e.g., viewers, editors, administrators). Roles are a convenient shorthand for defining and assigning permissions to users.

To view the list of all Roles (System and Custom)
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Roles tab

System Roles show "System" in the Created By column, whereas Custom Roles show "User".
To sort the Role list
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Roles tab

  3. In the table header, click on a column until the desired sort order is shown (sort order is shown with Up Arrow for ascending order and Down Arrow for descending order in the table header adjacent to the selected column)

To search for an existing Role
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Roles tab

  3. Type a few characters in the Magnifying Glass Search box above the list of Roles

This Search box uses a keyword search that matches against Role names.

System Roles

There are a number of Roles that are predefined in the system. These Roles cannot be modified and are always available. The predefined Roles are as follows:

  • Administrator: has all possible permissions
  • Editor: has all permissions except for the ability to manage team-level settings, plus the ability to preview activities
  • Viewer: has permissions to view and download files and metadata but cannot edit or delete any data
  • Anonymized Viewer: has all the permissions of the Viewer except they cannot view PI, download items, or preview activities

Custom Roles

[BioPharma]

To complement the builtin System Roles, you may need to create additional Roles. A major benefit of Custom Roles comes from inheritance; changes made to a Role are inherited by all users that are associated with the Role. In this sense, Custom Roles allow administrators to control the permissions of several users at once.

To create a new Custom Role
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Roles tab

  3. Click on the Add Role button at the top right of the Role list

  4. Type a name for the new Role in the Name of Role field

  5. Select Permission Flags for the new Role

  6. Click on the Save button to confirm. To cancel the action, click Cancel or press the Escape key

To create a new Custom Role based on an existing Role
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Roles tab

  3. Locate the Role you wish to copy in the list and bring up the Context Menu

  4. Select Duplicate from the popup menu

  5. In the popup dialog, make any required changes (e.g., change the Role name and adjust Permission Flags)

  6. Click on the Save button to confirm. To cancel the action, click Cancel or press the Escape key

Editing Custom Roles

Editing Roles is a convenient way to modify the permission of all users that are associated with a particular Role. For this reason, use caution when editing Roles.

System Roles cannot be modified.
To edit a Custom Role
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Roles tab

  3. Locate the Role in the list and bring up the Context Menu

  4. Select Edit Role from the popup menu

  5. In the popup dialog, modify the Role's properties

    1. Edit the Role's name
    2. Modify the associated Permission Flags
  6. Click on the Save button to confirm. To cancel the action, click Cancel or press the Escape key

Deleting Custom Roles

When a Role is deleted, all the users associated with the Role retain the permissions they had before the Role was deleted. All users that were associated with the deleted Role became users with custom permissions.

System Roles cannot be deleted.
To delete a Custom Role
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Roles tab

  3. Locate the Role in the list and bring up the Context Menu

  4. Select Delete from the popup menu

  5. Click on the Yes button to confirm. To cancel the action, click Cancel or press the Escape key

A Custom Role which still has any members cannot be deleted.