User Management


The user management capabilities allow administrators to create new users and manage attributes of existing user accounts.

The "Team->Manage users" permission flag is required to see the list of users.

User Accounts

Each user account in the system has the following attributes:

  • A name
  • An email address
  • Permissions - the actions users can perform with the content they can access
  • Accessible Content - the data accessible to a user
  • The date the account was created
  • Account status (e.g., active, disabled, awaiting activation)

The account name and email address are defined by an administrator when the account is created. Beyond this point, only the user can change these properties (e.g., name, password, picture, and signature) from the user's My Account.

To view the list of user accounts
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Users tab

To sort the user account list
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Users tab

  3. In the table header, click on a column until the desired sort order is shown (sort order is shown with Up Arrow for ascending order and Down Arrow for descending order in the table header adjacent to the selected column)

To search for an existing user account
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Users tab

  3. Type a few characters in the Magnifying Glass Search box above the list of users

This Search box uses a keyword search that matches against users' names, email addresses, Roles, and Accessible Content.
To show/hide accounts that are not active
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Users tab

  3. Click on the Display Settings button at the top right of the user list

  4. Enable the Show disabled users toggle to include in the listing users which have been disabled

  5. Enable the Show non-activated users toggle to include in the listing users who have not yet completed the activation process

Creating User Accounts

Account Creation

Before creating users, it is recommended to have an understanding of Permissions and Accessible Content. To streamline user creation, please review the existing Roles and Data Groups to ensure you are familiar with the available options and if necessary, create new Roles and Data Groups to suit the needs of new users.

Newly created accounts will be marked as "awaiting activation" and the new user will not be able to log in until Account Activation is completed.

Newly created users cannot access any data by default, unless a Data Group and/or Role is selected during user creation.
To create a user account
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Users tab

  3. Click on the Add User button at the top right of the user list

  4. In the popup dialog, enter the user's name in the Name field

  5. Enter the user's email address in the Email field

  6. (Optional) Choose one of the following options for the user's permissions:

    1. Select an option from the Role dropdown menu

      or

    2. Click on the Customize Permissions button and select individual Permission Flags

  7. (Optional) Choose one of the following options for the user's Accessible Content:

    1. Select an option from the Data Group dropdown menu

      or

    2. To allow access to all data: click on the Customize Accessible Content button and enable the Grant access to all team content toggle at the top of the Accessible Content popup dialog

      or

    3. To limit the access to a set of folders: click on the Customize Accessible Content button and select the folders that should be accessible to the user

  8. Click on the Create User button to finish

Account Activation

After a user account has been created by a team administrator, the system will automatically send an account activation notification to the new user by email. Once received, the user may click on the Activate button from their email to choose a password, review the terms and conditions and complete other activation steps as may be required.

Activation emails are incorrectly marked as spam by some email services. Be sure to check your spam filter.

Resending Activation Notification

If the user is having difficulty finding an activation email, even after checking their spam folder, or for any other reason, the notification can be resent by the team administrator.

To resend a user account activation notification
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Users tab

  3. Locate the user in the list and bring up the Context Menu

  4. Select Resend Activation Link from the popup menu

  5. In the popup dialog, click on the Resend Link button to confirm. To cancel the action, click Cancel or press the Escape key

Modifying User Accounts

An administrator can modify permissions of users, their Accessible Content and account status. However, names associated with accounts can only be changed by the user via My Account.

The "Team->Manage users" permission flag is required to modify user accounts.

Modifying Permissions

Permissions define the set of actions that users can perform with the data they can access (e.g., download, edit, view). While the permissions assigned to each user can be customized, it may be more convenient to create a common Role to express the permissions for user types (e.g., Viewer, Editor, Administrator).

To modify the permissions or Role associated with a user account
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Users tab

  3. Locate the user in the list and bring up the Context Menu

  4. Select Edit Role/Permissions from the popup menu

  5. (Optional) Choose one of the following options for the user's permissions:

    1. Select an option from the Role dropdown menu

      or

    2. Click on the Customize Permissions button and select individual Permission Flags

  6. Click on the Save button

Modifying Accessible Content

Accessible Content defines the set of folders that can be accessed by users. While Accessible Content can be customized for each user, it may be convenient to create a common Data Group for users that require access to the same folders (e.g., staff in a department or team). A Data Group can be associated with multiple users.

To modify the Accessible Content or the Data Group associated with user accounts
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Users tab

  3. Locate the user in the list and bring up the Context Menu

  4. Select Edit Accessible Content from the popup menu

  5. (Optional) Choose one of the following options for the user's Accessible Content:

    1. Select an option from the Data Group dropdown menu

      or

    2. To allow access to all data: click on the Customize Accessible Content button and enable the Grant access to all team content toggle at the top of the Accessible Content popup dialog

      or

    3. To limit the access to a set of folders: click on the Customize Accessible Content button and select the folders that should be accessible to the user

  6. Click on the Save button

Invalidate User's Session(s)

By default, users are not required to re-authenticate until they have logged out or until the application cookies have been cleared. However, an administrator can force a user to re-authenticate by invalidating their sessions.

To invalidate a user's session
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Users tab

  3. Locate the user in the list and bring up the Context Menu

  4. Select Invalidate Sessions from the popup menu

  5. In the popup dialog, click on the Invalidate button to confirm. To cancel the action, click Cancel or press the Escape key

Disable User Accounts

If an account is no longer required it can be disabled. At this time, there is no way to delete user accounts, since these may be connected to activity logs that are collected during normal application use. It's important to note that the application does not collect personal information other than a user's name and email address. In order to meet any regulatory requirements with respect to user privacy, please contact our support team.

To disable a user account or to enable a previously disabled account
  1. Click on the Settings button in the Repository Top Bar

  2. Click on the Users tab

  3. Locate the user in the list and bring up the Context Menu

  4. Select Disable Account or Enable Account from the popup menu as appropriate

  5. In the popup dialog, click on the Disable button to confirm. To cancel the action, click Cancel or press the Escape key